I know you're all curious as to what I've been doing to help my little weight loss along. The results may not be showing yet, but I have made some small changes (okay, very small....but changes none the less) in my daily routine.
For starters, I've been going to the gym 3-4 times a week. I haven't been going on weekends, because usually Aaron and I are laying around being bums, eating nachos, and possibly drinking a beer or two during the day. And when you have all those combinations put together...the gym just doesn't factor in. But Monday thru Friday, yes, I try to go to the gym 3-4 times.
I'm still just working on the bikes, staying on them for 30-40 minutes. It's way more than I was doing before, and I still think it's a good for me to start out like this. And it's not an excuse. I've been a couch potato, and my body is sort of in shock from riding a bike a few times a week
I also take advantage of the sauna in the locker room. During the day, no one is ever in there, and although it only gets to about 190°F, it still feels so good. I love the heat, and I feel so clean and refreshed after baking in the sauna. The only thing that beats it, is the cool shower that follows and you can wash away all the dirt and grim that seeped out of your pores.
I use to sauna a lot. While I lived in Maine, my friend and I joined the Y just for the sauna. We would go atleast twice a week. We built up quite a tolerance for it also. Going for so long, many times we would stay for about an hour (getting out every 15 minutes or so to refill our water bottles and cool off). Of course, you should never do that if your just starting out. Like now, I can barely stay in 10 minutes. It's freaking hot! And I love it!
I've also been cutting back on the quantity I've been eating (okay, just somewhat), but I figure every little bit makes a difference. Sure I've gotten ice cream twice in the past 2 weeks, but I get a smaller size than normal, and I'll cut back on my regular consumption for the day. Take last night for example. I ate half of what I normally would for dinner and then got half the normal ice cream. I've also been buying grapes like they are going out of style. I immediately wash them and take them off the stems and pop them in the fridge. Whenever I get an urge for something sweet - I go to the grapes. Crunchy - I go to the grapes. Cool and refreshing - Grapes. We've also been really good about eating veggies. We usually are, but ever since we moved here, we've probably been eating 2 or 3 times what we usually do, and it feels good.
So...what have you guys been doing to try and lose weight?
My initial comment was going to be "nothing!" but that isn't true. I've been cooking nearly every night, and eating out for Bren and I is now rare. And when we do eat out, we walk to the restaurant. We were walking a lot, but not lately and the cold weather is making me nervous. I want to make little changes like drinking my coffee black, only taking 1 small serving of food, not cooking for 4 when we only have 2...
ReplyDeleteI'm going to need an exercise video or to start an activity. I'm working on readjusting to our life living together. It's been a busy 2 months.